Teaparty scores huge win

by

For weeks (months?) we’ve heard how the Tea Party movement is not a serious player on the political field. We first heard how they would have no influence over elections, that they (we) were “astroturf” and not worth listening to. We then heard how they/we would only elect ineffectual representatives who would be stuck in a corner not able to get anything done. Since the election, we’ve heard how those Tea Party Reps and Senators would butt heads with the DC establishment and ultimately, the establishment would win. Wrong, wrong and can I just say – wrong.

Not only did the Tea Party score huge wins on election day and have elected Representatives and Senators who are hitting the ground running, but today, Senator Mitch McConnell, the poster boy for the establishment GOP, announced he is supporting an earmark ban in the 112th conference. McConnell, a huge fan of the earmarking process, was actively campaigning against a ban as recently as last week. He was unable to hold up against the onslaught of public outcry and pressure from the conservative wing of his party.

He released a statement today that read in part:

I have thought about these things long and hard over the past few weeks. I’ve talked with my members. I’ve listened to them. Above all, I have listened to my constituents. And what I’ve concluded is that on the issue of congressional earmarks, as the leader of my party in the Senate, I have to lead first by example. Nearly every day that the Senate’s been in session for the past two years, I have come down to this spot and said that Democrats are ignoring the wishes of the American people. When it comes to earmarks, I won’t be guilty of the same thing.

Make no mistake. I know the good that has come from the projects I have helped support throughout my state. I don’t apologize for them. But there is simply no doubt that the abuse of this practice has caused Americans to view it as a symbol of the waste and the out-of-control spending that every Republican in Washington is determined to fight. And unless people like me show the American people that we’re willing to follow through on small or even symbolic things, we risk losing them on our broader efforts to cut spending and rein in government.

That’s why today I am announcing that I will join the Republican Leadership in the House in support of a moratorium on earmarks in the 112th Congress.

It’s slow in coming and his statement still smacks of “if only you were smart enough to understand”, but the fact remains that a true grassroots movement of We the People has forced the Minority Leader of the Senate to change his position. Tea Party: 1 Establishment: 0

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Teaparty scores huge win”

  1. reffaree Says:

    McConnell is only one of the RINOS in the 112th. We have to sit on our DinoRino. Be sure Hatch is on board with everything TEA by calling and writing his office, both local and in DC. I know recently he has shown signs of “getting it” but constant contact from his bosses will keep him on track. We have alot of work to do over the next 2 years, but with vigilance, WE THE PEOPLE will triumph. GOD BLESS AMERICA!

Comments are closed.


