Happy Thanksgiving!

by

Feeling gratitude and not expressing it is like wrapping a present and not giving it.” William Arthur Ward

There is so much to be thankful for this year. Permit me a moment of personal indulgence. I’ve had a remarkable year and I am so grateful. I also am keenly aware that many are struggling. Those of us who are so blessed have a responsibility to reach out and help others.

I have a family that I dearly love. Support from them is what allows me to do what I do. I couldn’t ask for a better husband. Mr. Hill or Mr. on-the-Hill, as he is fondly called, is the greatest cheerleader ever. My kids are a close second.

I have so many dear, dear friends. Some have been friends for a while and some are new. All are fabulous! (And yes, I mean you.) What a ride this year has been! Thank you for blessing my life.

I have so enjoyed blogging – and I am very grateful that so many of you are willing to read what I write. Thank you for sharing your views with me and letting me share mine with you. I like to think I have grown as a blogger. I am excited to launch the new, improved “Holly on the Hill” blog at the beginning of the year. I am also grateful that I can be a political activist, be involved in campaigns, in issues and in movements that are important to me.

I am beyond grateful for the ability to spend my time doing what I love. I know how blessed I am to live in a country where we can continually create new opportunities for ourselves – and that if I fall on my face, I can pick myself up and try again.

This year has been one of learning and growth. Some of the lessons were hard – really hard – but in the end, the knowledge gained was worth it. I am grateful for those who stood by me while I was learning.

I am grateful for the Pilgrims who crossed the ocean “not to find soil for their ploughs but to secure liberty for their souls”, who dug more graves than built huts but still worked hard and found reason to give thanks.

I am grateful for Founding Mothers and Fathers “who more than self their country loved,” who were willing to risk everything for the “grand experiment” we call America.

I am grateful for the blessings of liberty. I am grateful to live in this country where I can express dissent with my government and not worry about disappearing in the middle of the night. I am grateful for the opportunity to cast a vote for the person I believe best represents me and for the ability to recall them when they no longer do. I am grateful for a process that allows “We the People” to hold our elected officials accountable. I am grateful for openness and transparency. I am grateful that so many men and women are willing to invest so much to get this country back on the right track. I am grateful that SO MANY good people ran for office this year – and that many, many more were actively involved in those races.

I am grateful for social media – and the Internet in general – and the fabulous tools they are.

I am grateful to our military – the greatest in the world. I am grateful to be from a military family and proudly claim the title of “Air Force brat.”

I am thankful to live in Utah. I am grateful to be surrounded by people who want to help their neighbor, who believe in leaving this world a better place than they found it – and who know we don’t need some onerous, expensive government program to do it. I am thankful for a state that balances its budget, that is business-friendly and family-friendly.

I am also grateful for those who realize there IS a proper role for government.

Finally, I am grateful to that God who watches over us all, who loves us and wants us to live lives of joy and service. Happy Thanksgiving, everyone!

Tags:

4 Responses to “Happy Thanksgiving!”

  1. John H. Says:

    Beautifully said! I agree, I agree, I agree! How wonderful! THANK YOU!

  2. Tpayne Says:

    DITTO! Well stated.

  3. Fred Says:

    Thank You!

  4. Expressing Thankfulness – Saving Our Humanity | Tasithoughts's Weblog Says:

    […] Happy Thanksgiving! (hollyonthehill.wordpress.com) […]

Comments are closed.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,284 other followers

