Just a little bit of news……

by

Not sure anyone noticed the blogging has been kinda light over the last few days but I’ve been a tad busy. You see, there was this very unique situation that came up in my legislative district – the sitting representative found out he didn’t actually live in his district. The ensuing twists and turns were worthy of their own TV show – something like “As the District Turns”….. But, with Friday’s court decision, an election was held last night in Utah’s district 57. Holly on the Hill is headed to the Hill as the newest Representative in the state.

Let me just say – I’ve never experienced a campaign quite like that one. Super compressed time frame and drama and intrigue, right to the very end, including a move to overturn the election after final results were announced. By the end of the night, however, my name had been submitted to the Governor for ratification as the winner with 62% of the vote. The Governor will ratify the appointment at 8 am Monday morning. I will then be sworn in by Speaker Rebecca Lockhart – the first Representative to have the oath administered by the new Speaker – at around 9:30 am.

Just 3 weeks ago, I had no idea this could lie in my future, but I very much appreciate the opportunity the delegates of District 57 have given me to represent them on Utah’s Capitol Hill. I am conservative, I am outspoken and I am ready to hit the ground running tomorrow morning.

(And to answer your question – yes, I will continue blogging, Tweeting and Facebooking as Holly on the Hill. I welcome your input as we move forward through the session.)

Tags:

6 Responses to “Just a little bit of news……”

  1. Lisa Shepherd Says:

    We are all happy that we will continue to hear the straight goods from our Holly on the Hill.

  2. Keith Kuder @Utah_Guru Says:

    Holly has always been an overachiever living from her heart and I’m glad this opportunity came her way! Utah is Honored to have her Officially Representing us!

  3. Bronson Says:

    Vote, what vote? This is dirty politics at its finest. Your name was not on the ballot. You didn’t even run. Yet another blow to democracy.

  4. rmwarnick Says:

    I’m sure Holly will do an excellent job as a representative. The process made a mockery of democracy, however.

  5. Travis Says:

    While, I feel bad for Representative Clark. You are an excellent choice. I look forward to hearing more about your experience in the legislature. Congratulations.

  6. Cynthia Says:

    You will be amazing! I am so proud!

Comments are closed.


