Day One

by

Day One is done. At 8 am, my family and I met with Governor Gary Herbert in the Gold Room. He related to us the story of the Chinese delegation that had come to Utah. Making polite conversation, they asked Governor Herbert how he had come to be the Governor. He explained that he had been concerned with some things he saw and decided he would run for city council. He lost that race but then won the next one – and then the next and the next an so on until here is today. Stunned that in America we could choose to be involved in business AND government, one of them leaned forward and said “You have a lot of freedom.” Indeed we do.

The Governor then thanked my family for being supportive of their mom and proceeded to sign the official appointment ratification papers. After family pictures on the stairs, getting my new badge and being assigned my own parking space (Woot!), we headed onto the House floor. A little before 10 am, I was sworn as the newest member of the Utah House of Representatives. A few minutes after that, floor time officially began.

Over the years, I have seen a lot of names come and go on the voting board but seeing mine up there was unforgettable. My thanks again to the delegates of District 57 for allowing me the opportunity to serve. The committee assignments I have been given are on the Government Operations and Education Standing committees and the Social Services Appropriations Committee.

On to the rest of the day… In typical freshman fashion, I managed to get lost. I know my way around the public areas, but the back hallways are another story. My new office is only about 20 feet from one of the committee rooms, but I still managed to wander around through the halls long enough that I ended up late for my first committee meeting. I found it ironic that the very first committee bills I voted on had to do with election law.

I finally made it home after 9 pm, had a quick bite to eat and collapsed in bed – already looking forward to Day 2.

Tags:

12 Responses to “Day One”

  1. James R Says:

    Your effort is greatly appreciated. Thank you for making time to represent us.

  2. BenJoe Says:

    Congrats! Look forward to what you will bring to the Legislature.

  3. Glenn641 Says:

    Thanks, Holly.

  4. James U Says:

    Smiling just thinking about you being there, Holly.

  5. Tammy and Parker Says:

    Wait! You get an office too?

    You really HAVE hit the big time! πŸ˜€

    xoxo

  6. Adams Says:

    Congratulations Holly!
    What do we call you? Congresswoman Holly?
    Representative Richardson?

  7. Fred Says:

    Representative Holly Richardson,
    You did great.
    Some of the back halls around the house building are confusing at best.

  8. hollyonthehill Says:

    Adams, you can call me Holly, but the official title is Representative Richardson. πŸ™‚

  9. rmwarnick Says:

    Representative Richardson sounds great. Congratulations!

  10. markg91359 Says:

    There are some who find disturbing parallels between politics in China and Utah. Both essentially are one party states.

    In Utah, I have always felt that I have the “freedom” to vote for the Republican candidate of my choice.

  11. hollyonthehill Says:

    RM, thanks. I just saw your post was caught by the spam filter. I appreciate it!

  12. Greg Says:

    Mark,

    Perhaps you prefer California, New York, or Michigan where you could vote for the Democrat of your choice. Or perhaps Illinois where you could choose to vote for the Democrat you do not want…

Comments are closed.


